300 word Fiction: “The Dartanian reminisces”

(c) Flickr user: Sweetie187

(c) Flickr user: Sweetie187

I pretend I am human. I learnt to smile a few centuries ago. After I was forced to learn Arabic and Chinese,that is.  It is not very difficult, you see. What irks me during the process is the voice in my head that knows how much my face hurts to twist. But the pain is okay. I prefer  it to the barrage my alien earthmates spew daily.

” Are you okay?” ” You look sad?” ” Is everything alright?” ” What is wrong with your eyes?”

Nothing is wrong with my eyes, you see. Where I come from, it is a privilege to have eyes facing in different directions.
In fact, it might just be the only thing that saves your life.
Dartan is brown. Mostly. The lone sea, the plants, even the ghosts are brown. The blue sun on the other hand…I have no idea why Maester made it that way.

Then again, She rules all.

On Dartan, it rains for years. Some children are born and die without seeing the sun. I was born lucky. My father is a recharger. His job allows him enough bluon ( the blue energy from our Sun. They are still trying to use it around here. They call it’Green energy‘. Hm. Humans.) to feed the thirty of us. My mothers never bother about the sun. They have seen many. 210 each.

I wonder what they are doing now…

I have been stuck here for so long. My eyes have grown accustomed gazing in the same direction. Even the animals no longer argue with me.
Maybe I will settle here. Since I cannot die( yet) and I cannot return to my world, I might as well fit in.
Or maybe I will try to steal their stupid yellow sun again.

2 comments

What do you think of my post?

