Three Ways I See Death

Almost everyone, has lost someone. A friend. A sibling. A parent. A lover. A neighbor.

Almost everyone.

Do you ever think of “death”? Not the action. Nor the importance it plays in the cycle of life. No. The concept.

Death.

Steve Jobs in his 2005 commencement speech said of death as being “Life’s most definite creation”. Or something like that.

The concept of death seems so far away. Especially for young people like me. I have never witnessed a child die. You might have. And I have heard of people younger than myself dying.

So, is anyone every truly too young to die?

Considering the fact that no one knows neither the place nor the time, shouldn’t we be actually embracing the concept of death? Or is it one of those “your thoughts have powers” sort of situations where you avoid to think about certain things because:

a) Karma is a …not very nice thing and
b) The Law of Attraction works?

The fact that you are reading this means that you and I are alive.

(Or maybe you are a ghost. If the latter is the case, then I guess I would still be able to update my blog when I die. Yay!)

What does death remind you of? I don’t think about death all the time. I have never been close to a near death situation and the last time I felt truly terrible for the death of a family member I had grown truly fond of was over 15 years ago.

So, you’re right. I am no expert on death. And you shouldn’t be reading this.

However, here is what death reminds me of:


A. Death is inevitable:

I know it is obvious. But I don’t think we pay attention to how truly obvious it is. This life will end. All you see will finish. Everyone you know will die. Sooner or later.

Take that in. Absorb it.

Now tell me, would you live a carefree life if you had this little voice at the back of your mind telling you: “Dude, it could be today. It could be now”? I won’t. I try not to.

The inevitability of death, in my opinion, should be the driving force behind every life changing venture. It should be the reason we don’t need an alarm clock. The reason we are polite to everyone we meet on our way and more importantly, the reason why we stay true and honest to ourselves.

B. It could be right now.
If you’re reading this, it means I was able to press publish.

Unexplained deaths are that way for a reason- the fact that a creator exists means there are things as humans, we can not understand. I believe He simplified a lot with reasons such as: cardiac arrests, brain aneurysms and other ‘salient’ causes of death.

Your heart could literally stop right now. Or your brain. Or a some vessel, somewhere.

The more I think of this, the more I understand why many of us can’t stand the thought of death.
How sad would it be to have these thoughts all day long? You might as well be dead! The design of death is indeed macabre.
Especially given the glorification of the process through literature ( Dorian Grey, Frankenstein, Vampire Diaries) and the blurring of the obvious (The Walking Dead, Evil Dead, iZombie, et al).

It seems the “global quartier” has succeeded in carefully packaging the afterlife into a commodity that can be consumed in 40 minute intervals. Or binged watched. Depending on your mental palate.

Sure, not everyone is fooled into thinking that zombies exist. But a seed well planted and carefully fed will surely grow. Even if it just ends up being a dwarf plant.

C. Death could be a source of joy:

When Princess Diana died, I had no idea who she was. I cried. When I lost my uncle in 2000, I felt terrible grief. When my classmate died in 2009, even though we weren’t particularly close, I did feel a painful loss.

First off, there is no way my pain will ever be equal to yours. It could either be more or less.

Second, my pain could be a source of joy. Keyword: empathy. Thinking that today could be your last day ( or whoever you are talking to) could be the only reason you need to be…you know…nice.

I miss my Uncle. And the only place I can see him is in pictures. So, now that I know that I could miss you too someday, I take my phone and I call you. I smile to you. I do well to be in good terms with you and for us to be, simply, happy.

I think grasping how futile our lives are with respect to the infinity of the universe and the incomprehensibility of creation should be the only reasons we have to do our best.

Right now.

Clearly, this is just an argument of perspective. This is the way I see it. And this is the reason why I don’t bear grudges. Of course, I get pissed.

All the time actually.

I am human. But rather than getting pissed for two months, and not talking to my friend, or siblings, I ask myself: if this were the last thing I would do, would I be this angry? Would I really feel this way?

For me, things become really clear when I put death in perspective. When I use it as a source of inspiration rather than fear. When I accept that this life will never be truly understood and that all I need to do I do what is in conformity with my soul.

This is why I suck at politics. And why I don’t pay attention to the news. Yes, James Altucher may have inflenced the latter but I take his arguments and fit to my context. Watch CRTV for a week and tell me if you get any value from watching “the news” or any other “content”.

Death cannot be explained. Each religion has its understanding of the concept. Each person has his/her perspective.

Thank you for reading mine.
I’d be very happy to read your perspective in the comments below. And if you think others could see death like I do, please share. Have a great week ahead.

All that matters, is what we do now.

One comment

What do you think of my post?

