Blue Bird #Poetry

There is a bird on the tree.
The blue one.
No, not the blue bird, the blue tree.
The one in my mind, the one I am so fond.

There is a bird on the tree.
The sad one.
No, not the sad tree.
The sad blue bird.

The blue bird sings a song I know.
A song of pain not long ago.
Of pain beneath the skin, way below.
A song within the bone’s marrow.

There is a bird on the tree.
The bird that shares my mind with me.
The bird that scoffs and shares my dreams.
The same bird that hugs when tears reveal.

There is a bird on the tree.
My calm betrothed friend.
Last night he watched the tears fade.
He watched the cutter approach with haste.

My bird left the tree.
He found peace in another’s mind.
My troubles he couldn’t solve.
Now, I’m alone.

He left me, all alone.

7 comments

  1. Seems I got a bird too hein? But birds rarely stay, unless they’re caged; and if caged, they’ll rarely stay out of love. I think I’m gonna find myself a tree. Once planted, it stays. Perhaps not forever, but longer than a bird would. Wise?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Buying time aye? Isn’t that our single greatest course of action? Postponing the inevitable…humanity…what a quest. I wise Sally. I wise.

      Like

What do you think of my post?

