Le JobTalk : Solving Cameroon’s Employment Gap

There’s a job event taking place in Douala in four days. It’s open to all. You just need to download your free ticket.

It is organized by the human resource startup- Agence ARCH led by Marco Mbilla. The first edition proved to be timely.

I will not attend. Not because I don’t think it is relevant( why would I be writing about it if it wasn’t??) But, because I will not be able to get to Douala by the 30th of April.

Le Job Talk  aims at engaging job seekers and employers in conversations that could lead to mutual gain.

Job-Talk-2-1

Human Resource Management staff, degree holders, job seekers and other consultants around the questions: how to get a job, what job givers seek and how to position yourself in the job market.

Just like I  don’t think  everyone seeks to get a job,  I don’t think everyone should be an entrepreneur or build a business.  Here’s a Quora thread on “Why doesn’t everyone become an Entrepreneur?”.

A leader is only one because there are followers. Take away the followers and she’s nothing. Nada. Niet. We need people to build businesses. And we need people to work in those businesses.

The first time I met Marco ( together we some other dudes and a dudette) we were trying to organize an award ceremony (whatever happened  to that bro?).

The second time, it was at ACTIVspaces in Douala. Where we met again for the 3rd time during  the first edition of Elodie’s #CamerSMMeetup ( Oh, there’s another on the 14th of May, get your free tickets!)

If you’re in the city on the 30th, don’t miss it. Thank me later.  And oh, don’t forget to be careful with the taxi cab drivers.

 

P.S: While writing this brief update, I wanted to make the case for Unemployment in Cameroon. I needed numbers. Turns out, the first Google hit is the very non-Cameroonian site. Then,  I read this on it: 

“Unemployment Rate in Cameroon is reported by the Institut National de la Statistique du Cameroun”- http://www.tradingeconomics.com

Obviously, you know what I did.  Here’s the site. I did a search and the only result was this.  Guess what? The research dates as far back as 2010. I didn’t even bother to download the pdf document (which is in FRENCH ONLY!!). Please, if you do, let me know what it says.

I can read french. I just don’t find it fun to read data that doesn’t matter.

I hope it is my ignorance of data that begs this question: is there any Cameroonian institution that does reasearch on this very important data? Or should I wait for Davos to get info on my country? Please, someone put some data in the comments. 

I hope I am wrong. I want to be wrong. I want to believe that I am just too lazy and ignorant that I don’t know where to find data on my country anywhere on the internet.  That would be way better than the feeling in my stomach right.

P.P.S: I don’t event want to get started on the design of the website. Ugh.

Thank you for reading oh! Are you on Snapchat? Add me! —–>@tchassakamga
*Ellie Goulding Voice* I need your love….please like and share. And if this is the first time you’re reading this or visiting my blog, start here.
I love you too.*wink*

4 comments

  1. Several thoughts
    1. FNE is the official platform for job seekers. There are no data available on their website. Still, they may have statistical data to communicate if asked, dunno (http://www.fnecm.org/).
    2.We have many issues in our country but there are also things we need to admit. The system D (débrouillardise) is the lead in the country and I would even say that it holds the highest part of the employees in our country. Therefore, in a country where the simple P.O. BOX system is not so well installed, when localizing someone it’s quite a challenge, how can you analyze the growth of employment without spending MUCH money. Plus, when do you decided someone is unemployed if we look at people in system D? Nothing but easy.
    3. The event you mention: I am sure it is a great initiative, still I believe the issue sits higher. Job seeking starts with someone knowing what he wants to do in life, and this many in Cameroon are not trained to look at it. Therefore, they are not even prepared for interviews, have CVs which could make you cry and are not supported. I therefore really believe that we should look more at opportunities of career coaching to students, well before they start looking for a job.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think of my post?

