Cameroonian #Podcasters? #Podcasting? Anybody? Somebody?

Update from Facebook Post: This post doesn’t refute the existence of diverse, rich African podcasts. My bone of contention is with the lack of ( or maybe my poor research skills are to blame because I didn’t find) Cameroonian podcasters. It also takes into account all types of podcasts. Even the motivational podcasts my good friend Befoune talks about here. And, the focus is on audio. Not video.

This link  gave a collection of 6 hot African Podcasts we should be listening to.

It was interesting to find that (obviously) a majority were Nigerian. I clicked on “Not Your African Cliché” and was thrilled to get the four  unique , interesting Nigerian ladies.

Their discussion ranged from education to entrepreneurship and startups to designer clothes.

It felt like the kind of harmless banter you may be lucky to eavesdrop when your beautiful and full of adventure cousins are all seated in the parlor watching a boring TV show and chatting through the commercial slot.

It was nice.

The list was nice.

What wasn’t nice (for me) was the fact that I tried to Google Cameroonian podcasts to listen and I couldn’t find any.

I pray I didn’t do proper search.

But these words struck me:
“The simple reason why I believe it’s important to produce podcasts featuring African voices is because we simply can’t trust non-Africans to accurately represent our interests on the world stage, or expect them to adequately articulate our values and convictions. “Andile Masuku, Host of African Tech Round-up.

I don’t think there are adequate Cameroonian voices on the internet that wrestle to help our narrative evade “the danger of a single story”

And I hope I am wrong.

I know two people who put out audio content- Baba Aboki and William Takor. But I don;t think they do it on a consistent basis. And given the nature of their lives and work, I totally understand.
But, I don’t forgive them. Because their opinions and voices could change a lot of minds about a lot of things.

Guys,do more.

I also listened to Femmes Lumiere by the industrious Andrea Bomo. But it is more of a radio programme uploaded to the internet than a podcast.

Like bloggers and journalists seem not to identify their key differences, I think there is a disconnect between what a podcast is, and what it really is.

And what it isn’t, is a radio show.

Podcasts are intimate, raw and rich. They allow a versatility that cannot be achieved with radio and the almighty RSS allows listeners to retrieve new episodes whenever they want as well as listen whenever ( and wherever) they want…

For a long time, radio has existed.

Many of us (especially our parents) fervently listen to Laucheon date and Cameroon Calling.

Traditional media isn’t dead. It may never die. But New Media allows a reach, audience and so much more.

If you have come across any Cameroonian podcasts, please leave the links in the comments.
Do you have a different view on podcasts?

Would you like to produce podcasts?

17 comments

  1. Hello dear. Why not start by yourself? Lol. I would say internet connectivity would not necessarily encourage people in doing so and creating an audience too. Snapchat usage mabye will help in that perspective.
    I would recommend you check Sound Cloud. I know of one Cameroonian (Paola Audrey- https://soundcloud.com/paolaaudrey) though she does not live in Cameroon. And ur bro William Takor is also featured there, so you could find more, never know.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually, I am working on a couple of podcasts. 🙂 I agree about the Internet connectivity but I believe a lot is becoming affordable. With 100frs,one can get 75mb Data with MTN’s daily( not advertising here, lol)., And I predict that it will get cheaper. I didn’t know about Paola! I’ll check that now. I wish William would do more. He has an interesting perspective on culture and music.

      Like

      1. I also believe that everything has to be adapted to culture. African voices to says African Stories, ok I get it. But which stories and for which purposes? In environments where basic needs are not yet fulfilled, you can expect people and even youth to have this kind of “intellectual” focus. We should go back to basics, get our youth to learn culture, to appreciate reading, discovering new things, learning for real, and appreciating work well done before expecting them to jump to podcasts. Otherwise, we will get what we get on Snapchat now, or even Facebook or Youtube, which is a large majority of self-centered and nothing but valuable content (just saying).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Anna, this is going to be a little bit long. 🙂
        In the past ( and even now) community radios were used to get communities involved in development. In the far past, town criers walked around with drums to announce meetings and event during which the people could meet and figure out the problems of the village and find mutual solutions.
        Today, we have the internet. Today, almost every high school student who lives in the city has access to a smartphone ( which means Whatsapp and Facebook).
        How do you reach these young people to talk about the basic issues? How do you let them know that in this same country, some people don’t even have electricity? Or water? How do you make people realize that they are blessed to even have three meals a day.
        I may have given the wrong impression with my interest in social media ( especially the new ones like Snapchat )- I don’t care about how popular they are.
        The fact is, many Cameroonian youth are on these platforms and if you’re going to communicate to them to get them to appreciate new things, learn the culture, and working well- as a communicator-you have no choice than to learn and appreciate these new media.

        Not because they are fun and interesting. No. But because the youth are there. And you want to communicate with them.

        Podcasts are the new radio. Snapchat is the new TV. Facebook, Whatsapp is the new parlour where people discuss with family and friends.
        Being the first to be on this platforms allows you to master it so that you can now use it to do whatever you want.
        And from our discussions, Anna, I know we both want the same thing: youth development and empowerment. Am I wrong?

        Like

      3. Podcasts maybe the new radio, but radio has never been so much of a so largely used communication tool for the Cameroonian Youth. Whatsapp is useful but so poorly used. Snapchat for me is nothing but the new TV because for people in here to realise it could be used that way, it will get the same time, even more than the time to understand what is the best they can take of Facebook (which is still very low as when you look at kids Facebook profile). Plus, I do not agree with the thought that Cameroonian Youth in its wide spectrum has phones which can enable internet connection. There are 22 million cameroonian and more than 50% of them are youth, and only 2 million of those Cameroonians are on Facebook (which is the more widely spread medium). Your environment or my environment is not the ennvironment of the basic Cameroonian and Internet believe me is still a luxury for many.They may go once in a while but not get to using it everyday. There is still much work to do to get internet access for our youth and therefore, while that is progressing, I believe there are still many other options, out of the internet spectrum to get to connect with youth and give them the right sharing. Culture is not only about technologics. Personnally, I am not a geek and I believe though technologies are useful and important, u still can go without them. I still appreciate buying and reading a newspapers, I love buying and reading books, I love live discussions with people on hot topics, live training so I don’t say Podcasts are not useful nor a good means of communication. I just say in the actual environment, this would not be my primary focus to connect and build relationship with youth in our dear country, especially if I want to hit THE CROWD. (ps: sorry this was quite long too).

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I actually prefer long comments. I am grateful because it expresses the writer’s thoughts.
        I love books. You have no idea. 😀 However, ever since I have been able to connect to the internet, I have been able to access more information and books than I thought than I could physically.
        The reason why I am very optimistic about the way the internet can push development is because I have seen people, in Cameroon, build businesses from nothing thanks to the internet. People, in Cameroon, gain skills and certifications and making a living for themselves.
        Yes, the number of connected Cameroonians in small.
        Yes, the youth don’t all have access to the internet as much as I may think.
        Now, tell me, why do you think late Monique Koumate’s sad ordeal reached international media? Was it not because of the noise generated on Facebook?
        I have been lucky to meet and talk with many tech people here in Buea. Especially the person I consider the pivot of Silicon Mountain- Churchill Mambe. He taught himself programming. Worked in cybercafe so as to gain skills ( and money) while he built his business.
        Not taking advantage of the web to effect faster change is like trying to reinvent the wheel.
        The internet allows us to reach 2 Million Cameroonians. What if each of these Cameroonians had 100 immediate people in his/her environment to talk to? Don’t you think we can have the kind of educational revolutions we seek?
        I have taught myself a lot of things thanks to the internet. And I believe all one needs is the desire, will and discipline.
        I hardly read physical Newspapers- but I am on the web everyday where I get news. It is easy. ( and it is free! lol)
        Maybe I am pushing the new school things too much. Maybe I am just a geek.
        But the internet is a leapfrogging platform that could change out country faster than we could imagine.

        Like Gary Vaynerchuk says: “Social Media is the face of the Internet”. The number keeps growing.

        The thing now is this: will you wait until when everyone ( or a critical mass) is there? Or will you head there first so that YOU can understand it and in turn teach the others? So that you can teach them to use these tools for growth and personal fulfillment?

        Case in point: without social media, we would not be having this conversation. 🙂

        Like

      5. I don’t consider WordPress as a social media by the way (just for your last comment lol) but as an expression tool and people would not necessarily agree with me. I understand how the Internet Revolution has changed the world, has positively affected the continent but I also witness how it has not! Techie is a space and people in that space, tend to see only the positive advantage of social media. I am thankful enough not to be a techie person. I use Internet for all the positive vibes it brings to me but I also know how to stay away from nonsense. You mention the Koumateke case but for me that is not the best example and I admit to disagree with you there. I hated those videos, I saw nothing on earth that justified to share the information in that manner and at the end of the day, I still believe that many Cameroonians went back to their daily lives without any change or more, with that new hatred for doctors. For me the Monique’s case holds in its core the example of how good and at the same time very bad internet can be. So yeah, it can help our youth but my personal view is our youth needs much more than just tools. They first of all need VALUES. Discovering guys like you, give me a positive vibe because I feel there is something to be done, and anyway I always prefer staying positive but truly, we have lots of issues and tech is not going to solve them all. Everyone is necessary in the play but those who have the mindset and the opportunity should not forget that they have different roles. Showing a good image through social media, podcasts, etc.. is one thing but ensuring a maximum of young people are really touched and transformed by this image, in order to grow another mindset in our country, to get back to a more “valid” set of values, that is another great piece of the work and for me, that is the greatest bit (E.g. when on Facebook, NK has more than 70K followers or a more plain example of P… called Coco Emilia has kind of the same amount of followers on Instagram, I just worry of the impact of social media on our society, I really do worry, because in real life, you know people, you know the real stories, you can check the facts, if you go out and publish those facts on the net, you become a hater…why? Because those people have created a social base…. As I said internet is dangerous. It should be used more than wisely, even though it is necessary for change). Nice talk

        Liked by 1 person

      6. “It should be used more than wisely, even though it is necessary for change.” You have said it all. Thank you. I thoroughly enjoy your point of view and I look forward to working with you to bring the required change.( P.S: If social media includes Blogging, and WordPress is a blogging platform, I have to disagree with you- WordPress is social media. 🙂 )

        Liked by 1 person

      7. lol, dunno if social media includes blogging. I look forward to work with your spirited mind too. Was a pleasure chatting. And you should spend more time on my blog lol. Though, I will be bringing one on WordPress very soon which I believe you will love commenting. Stay tuned.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome read. I have not come across a y Cameroonian podcasts (and I listen to quite a few). I’ve actually been contemplating a lot lately (mostly with myself) about starting one. Maybe I should (not)?. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think of my post?

