One is Greater Than Zero

I can’t stop thinking about the implication of this statement and how much it is shaping my thought process

When I started posting online, I’d  panic as soon as I don’t get many comments or likes or shares. It still happens to me sometimes.

When my tweet gets ignored, it feels like a rejection letter from my dream publishing house.

Now, it no longer feels that way. Well… not as much.

I have understood that “one is greater than zero”.

In the video below Gary Vee  explains why he takes all kinds of interviews. Even the ones that seem to be a waste of time ( and money). He explains how important it is to always say yes to the small opportunities to make an impact.

That’s who he is.  I can’t hustle like he does. If you can do that, kudos to you!

But what I can do ( and what I do now) is realize that even if I get only one like, one share, one Retweet, one reply…that it matters.

That if one person thinks that what I wrote/said/shared was worthy of his or her time, then I have won. Then my plan succeeded.

That is why I reply to every comment, every DM, every email and every message.

Of course,I am human and I may have all this gung ho now but eventually miss my mark. But that won’t stop me from trying.

Everyone matters.  It’s similar to the popular spiel in the entrepreneurship world about shares in a company before it is formed:

1% of something is better than 100% of nothing.

One is greater than zero.

That’s how I intend to build my community. I can’t wait to be “internet famous” whatever that means to start caring about the people who care about me.

That’s why I’m back here. And why I am focusing on creating maximum value for people like you. ( Did I tell you I was working on a book?) That is why one of our key strategies when we started our Medium publication was to NOT invite our friends to LIKE the page.

You can check it out. We have less than 200 likes on the Facebook page. But our following keeps growing.

I believe that such organic growth is preferable to “forced growth”. Getting people to like a page just because.  That’s not the way I want to be remembered.

I may be desperate for your love *wink* but I want you to love me because you love me. Not because I asked you to.

One is greater than zero. One view. One tweet. One share.

That’s all I need to keep me going.

What do you need? What keeps you going? Please, let me know in the comments section.

And don’t forget to add me on Snapchat!

snap

6 comments

      1. Big pb is that not every one wants to be save or want to do what is needed to get out of sh***. And that gets me frustrated and i have pb accepting it looool that is y i call it a complex looool.

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think of my post?

